Shock Trauma Announces New Members of Board of Visitors

For immediate release: May 01, 2004


Cindy Rivers

[email protected] | 410-328-8778

Panel of prominent Marylanders supports trauma center’s lifesaving mission

Greater Baltimore Committee President Donald C. Fry and Prince George’s County Executive Jack B. Johnson have joined the Board of Visitors of the R Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Center. Also appointed to a three-year term on the board are two prominent local businessmen, John M. Kane and Joseph W. Cowan.

The Shock Trauma Center, which is part of the University of Maryland Medical Center, is internationally recognized for its leadership, innovation and state-of-the-art care of trauma patients.

Thirty-three people serve on its Board of Visitors, which is chaired by former state Sen. Francis X. Kelly. Members include elected officials, such as U.S. Rep. C.A. “Dutch” Ruppersberger, D., Md. and the executives of Anne Arundel, Harford, Baltimore and Howard counties. Local business leaders are also on the board as well as media representatives, such as WBAL-TV president and general manager Bill Fine and veteran WJZ-TV consumer reporter Dick Gelfman. Mr. Gelfman, who was treated at Shock Trauma in July 2002 following a car crash in Columbia, Md., joined the board a year ago.

Mr. Fry has been the president of the Greater Baltimore Committee (GBC), the region’s most prominent organization of business and civic leaders, since November 2002. A lawyer, he previously served as GBC’s executive vice president. He has represented Harford County in the Maryland House of Delegates and has served in the Maryland Senate. Currently, Mr. Fry chairs the Vision 2030 Task Force, which is charged with developing transportation planning in the region for the next three decades.

Another new board member, Mr. Johnson, has served as Prince George’s County executive since 2002. Previously, he was the county’s state’s attorney for eight years. He is a member of County Executives of America, the National Black Prosecutors Association and a host of other organizations.

Mr. Kane is the president and chief executive officer of the Kane Company and has more than 20 years of experience in the transportation business. His company, which has offices in Elkridge, Md., provides trucking, distribution and commercial moving and storage services to customers in the mid-Atlantic region. He is also the chairman of the Maryland Republican Party.

Mr. Cowan is the president and owner of Cowan Systems, LLC, a regional interstate trucking company with headquarters in Halethorpe, Md. He was the recipient of the Ernst & Young entrepreneur of the year award in 2000.

A lawyer, Mr. Gelfman has worked as the consumer reporter at WJZ Eyewitness News since 1989. He started his “Get Gelfman” reports in January 1990. Before that, he worked as the consumer reporter and news anchor for WBAL-TV for 10 years.

The Shock Trauma Center provides the highest level of trauma care in Maryland, treating more than 7,000 critically ill and injured patients each year. It is named for its founder, R Adams Cowley, M.D., a pioneer in trauma care.


For patient inquiries, call 1-800-492-5538 or click here to make an appointment.