Our Faculty

The Department of Family and Community Medicine at the University of Maryland is one of the largest in the country. Our Department has three divisions: Graduate, Undergraduate, and Patient Care. Our faculty are active in the education of medical students, residents, and practicing physicians. We have a one-year competitive Primary Care Sports Medicine Fellowship Program. The fellows provide care for NFL Ravens, Big Ten University of Maryland at College Park, University of Maryland at Baltimore County and Coppin State University along with several high schools.

One of the distinct advantages of our University Hospital is the expertise of faculty members in the Department of Family Medicine. In addition to our full-time board certified family physicians, we have a number of faculty who represent various other disciplines and specialties including pharmacy, psychology and clinical social work.

The Chairman is David L. Stewart, M.D., M.P.H. Dr. Stewart is an Associate Professor in Family Medicine and was the former Director of the Undergraduate Education in the Department and Vice Dean of Ambulatory Medicine for the campus.

Yvette L. Rooks, M.D., CAQ, FAAFP has served as Vice Chairman since July 1, 2008 and has been Residency Director since July 1, 2005. She is a board certified family physician, having served as Chief Resident in the program from 1995 - 1996. Dr. Rooks completed a fellowship in Primary Care Sports Medicine at the University of Maryland. She is the Head Team Physician for The University of Maryland at College Park Terps. Dr. Rooks is a Past-President of the Maryland Academy of Family Physicians.

Prior to becoming Residency Director, Dr. Rooks served eight years as the Course Director of the Family Medicine Clerkship at the University Of Maryland School Of Medicine.

Family Medicine Faculty Listing

David L. Stewart, M.D.
Chairman, Family and Community Medicine
Associate Professor of Family and Community Medicine

Yvette Rooks, M.D. CAQ
Executive Vice Chairman, Family and Community Medicine
Director, Graduate Division
Assistant Professor, Family and Community Medicine


Beth Barnet, M.D.
Vice-Chair, Research

Richard Colgan, M.D.
Vice-Chair, Clinical Operations
Vice-Chair, Medical Student Education

Associate Professors

Niharika Khanna, M.D.
Director of the Maryland Health Care Innovations Collaborative 

Assistant Professors

James Baronas, M.D. CAQ
Medical Director, University Maryland Immediate Care
Director of Student and Employee Health, University of Maryland

Diana Carvajal, M.D.
RHEDI Program Director

Valerie Cothran, M.D., CAQ
Director of Primary Care Sports Medicine Fellowship

Stephanie L. Davis, M.D.
Director of Maternal and Child Health Division

Alistair Esege, M.D.

Sharon Feinstein, M.D.
Medical Director, University Family Medicine

Shana Ntiri, M.D., M.P.H.

Jason Ramirez, M.D.
Director of Inpatient Medicine

Kristin Reavis, M.D.

Vivienne Rose, M.D.
Director of Student Health, UMBC
Director of Bariatric Program

Neil Siegel, M.D.

Support staff (Graduate Division)

Pam Hough
Administrative Assistant to Dr. Rooks

Valerie Liner
Residency Coordinator
Administrative Assistant

Bruce Brooks
Program IT Specialist

For more information, call the University Physicians Consultation and Referral Service at 1-800-492-5538 (patients) or 1-800-373-4111 (physicians).