Childbirth Classes

Click here to register for a class.



Childbirth Education Class

Developed for busy expecting parents, this one-day class focuses on evidence-based information that empowers parents to manage the process of labor and birth and make informed choices for their birth experience. This class provides an understanding of the stages of labor and familiarity with medical and hospital procedures. Discussion will focus on pain management options and we will practice techniques for relaxation, breathing, and pushing. Class includes what to expect in the immediate postpartum period and a tour of Labor and Delivery. Class is 9 am- 5 pm with a break for lunch. $75 fee includes mother and support person.

  • Saturday, November 4, 2017
  • Saturday, December 16, 2017
  • Saturday, January 20, 2018
  • Saturday, February 10, 2018
  • Saturday, March 10, 2018
  • Saturday, April 14, 2018
  • Saturday, May 19, 2018
  • Saturday, June 16, 2018

Fees: $75 per individual/couple


Breastfeeding

Learn how to breastfeed with confidence. Taught by a registered nurse, this course will cover the basics of breastfeeding including advantages of breastfeeding, initiating breastfeeding, various breastfeeding positions, establishing and identifying a good latch, and feeding and pumping guidelines. This interactive class also includes a helpful book. Classes are offered from 6-8 pm.

  • Thursday, November 2, 2017
  • Thursday, December 14, 2017
  • Thursday, January 18, 2018
  • Thursday, February 8, 2018
  • Thursday, March 8, 2018
  • Thursday, April 12, 2018
  • Thursday, May 17, 2018
  • Thursday, June 14, 2018

Fees: Classes are free if receiving prenatal care at University of Maryland Redwood office, Penn St. office, Edmonson office, or Family Medicine. For all others, the fee is $45 for mother and support person.

Moms Breastfeeding Group

Meets every Thursday from 12-1pm at 29 S. Paca St. Lower Level. 

Cost: Free

For questions email Child[email protected]


Infant Care with CPR and Safety

Taught by registered nurses using evidence-based practice, this interactive class covers basic infant care such as bathing, cord care, diapering, temperature taking, and circumcision care. Household baby-proofing and basic infant first aid are discussed along with safe sleep environment and car seat safety. Using the American Heart Association Infant CPR Anytime program, infant and child CPR and choking rescue methods will be taught. Classes are offered from 1-5 pm. This class is for educational purposes and is not a certification program.

  • Sunday, November 5, 2017
  • Sunday, December 17, 2017
  • Sunday, January 21, 2018
  • Sunday, February 11, 2018
  • Sunday, March 11, 2018
  • Sunday, April 15, 2018
  • Sunday, May 20, 2018
  • Sunday, June 3, 2018

Fees:

Infant Care: $25 per person, $40 per couple 

Infant CPR and Safety: $25 per person, $40 per couple 

Combined Class: $40 per person, $60 per couple 


Return to Work Pumping Class

Pumping: Making it Work: Perfect for moms returning to work while breastfeeding. Know your legal rights for pumping breaks at work! Learn how to use your breast pump and techniques to maintain milk supply. We will discuss safe milk handling and storage. You may bring your own breast pump. Sunday nights after Infant Care class. Class is 6 p.m.- 8 p.m.

  • Sunday, November 5, 2017
  • Sunday, December 17, 2017
  • Sunday, January 21, 2018
  • Sunday, February 11, 2018
  • Sunday, March 11, 2018
  • Sunday, April 15, 2018
  • Sunday, May 20, 2018
  • Sunday, June 3, 2018

Fees:$30 fee includes mother and support person.


Tours 

We offer complimentary tours of the labor & delivery unit and the mother-baby unit for our expectant moms and one guest. Children are not allowed on these tours, see Sibling Class description for information on kids tours.

Registration is required for this tour. Register at [email protected]. Please include the doctor you see and your due date.

You must be pregnant to take this tour.